Journée Georges de Rham

Journée George de Rham

The Journée Georges de Rham has been introduced in 1991 by the Troisième Cycle Romand de mathématiques. Since then, it is organized each year during the Spring semester by the mathematics departments of EPFL and of the University of Geneva, and it features two speakers of international fame. The Journée de Rham aims at presenting current developments in mathematics, as well as at stimulating interactions amongst researchers in mathematics and related fields.

2023 Edition: Wednesday 7 June 2023

The next Journée Goerges de Rham took place on Wednesday 7 June 2023, on the EPFL Campus. I 


Christopher Skinner
Princeton University

"De Rham theory, L-values, and non-split extensions"

Allan Sly

Allan Sly
Princeton University

"Transience for the interchange process in dimension 5"

Speakers at previous Georges de Rham's editions

James Maynard (University of Oxford)
Approximating reals numbers by fractions (Watch replay)

Corinna Ulcigrai (UZH)
Slow chaos: dynamics of parabolic systems

Claudia de Rham (Imperial College London)

De Rham Cohomology to Massive Gravity

Martin Hairer (Imperial College London)

Taming Infinities

Francis Brown (University of Oxford)

De Rham Integration

Nigel Hitchin (University of Oxford)

Integrable systems and algebraic geometry

Stéphane Mallat (École Normale Supérieure)

Mathematical Mysteries of Deep Network

Sergei Tabachnikov (PennState University)

Flavors of bicycle mathematics

Gregory F. Lawler (Chicago)

Self-avoiding motion

Martin Zirnbauer (Cologne)

Bott periodicity and the “Periodic Table” of topological insulators and superconductors

Wilfrid S. Kendall (Warwick)

Buffon Needles, Google Maps, and Friends

Robert J. Adler (Technion)

Phase Transitions and Random Topology

Ilia Itenberg (Paris)

Invariants in real enumerative geometry

Alex Lubotzky (Jerusalem)

High dimensional expanders and Ramanujan complexes

Etienne Ghys (ENS Lyon)

William Thurston et les feuilletages

Robert Meyerhoff (Boston College)

Hyperbolic 3-Manifolds: Historical Development and Some Future Paths

Marta Sanz-Solé (Barcelone)

Invariants in real enumerative geometry

Yves Benoist (Paris XI, Orsay)

Dynamical system on the torus

Mikhail Kapranov (Yale University)

Formal loops and chiral differential operators

Don Zagier (MPI Bonn & Collège de France)

From mock theta functions to black holes

Luigi Ambrosio (Scuola Normale Superiore di Pisa)

Surface measures in Euclidean spaces, Carnot groups and Wiener space

Alexander Bobenko (Technische Universität Berlin)

Discrete Differential Geometry: Theory and Applications

Curtis McMullen (Harvard University)

Billiards and moduli space

Peter Sarnak (Princeton University)

The affine linear sieve

Details of previous editions can also be found in the CUSO webpage here.