Our mission

The mission of the Bernoulli Center for Fundamental Studies is to promote fundamental research in a collaborative environment.

It expands the prior center by combining mathematics with theoretical computer science and theoretical physics. The center's activities are three-fold: (1) at the international level, it pursues research programs with short- and long-term visitors, the Bernoulli Fellowship for mid-career researchers, and semi-virtual events; (2) at the EPFL level, it provides a stimulating environment for campus collaborations and integrates education activities; (3) at the outreach level, it promotes activities for underrepresented groups, young talents and the public.

The Bernoulli Center for Fundamental Studies is located in the GA building on EPFL campus, near the town of Lausanne and by the shores of Lake Leman. It is a short commute from the Geneva International Airport.

The center just re-opened (September 2021). The semestrial research programs will resume, under the auspices of an expanded Scientific Advisory Board, as soon as the building renovations and expansions are done.

Executive Committee

Administrative Specialist

Pavle Krivokapic

GA 3 34 (Bâtiment GA)
Station 5
CH-1015 Lausanne
+41 21 693 64 30

Internal Advisory Committee


Aru Juhan
Boumal Nicolas
Chizat Lénaïc
Colombo Maria
Eisenbrand Friedrich
Hess Bellwald Kathryn
Hongler Clément
Kressner Daniel
Krieger Joachim
Olhede Sofia
Panaretos Victor


Chiesa Alessandro
Flammarion Nicolas
Gastpar Michael C.
Kapralov Michael
Urbanke Rüdiger


Carleo Giuseppe
Gorbenko Victor
Krzakala Florent
Mila Frederic
Rattazzi Riccardo
Savona Vincenzo
Zdeborova Lenka

External Scientific Advisory Board

Coming soon

Scientific Advisory Board of the Bernoulli Center (CIB) until 2021:

Gérard Ben Arous NYU

Michel Broué Paris

John Coates Cambridge

Pierre de la Harpe UNIGE

Martin Hairer Imperial College London

Elon Lindenstrauss Hebrew University

Alfio Quarteroni EPFL

Alain Valette UNINE

Lai-Sang Young NYU

Former directors

Founders: Gérard Ben Arous and Tudor Ratiu.
Founding Director: Tudor Ratiu, Director 2002 to 2014.
Director: Nicolas Monod 2014 to 2021.

Mailing address

Bâtiment GA
Station 5
1015 Lausanne